Amazon Ad

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Phish- Undermind Sessions

The last in our summer series of Phish rarities comes from 2004 when the band was recording Undermind. Hot on the heels of their previous release, Roundroom, the band focused on much shorter pop driven songs with catchy melodies and memorable lyrics.

I wasn't the biggest fan of Roundroom at first, so when I saw that Undermind was being released, I was hesitant to get too excited. It's only now as we sit on the cusp of another new Phish studio effort (the first in 5 years mind you) that I have reexamined both of these records and am surprisingly quite fond of them both.

Undermind has a few sleepers on it. "Access Me," is a stand out; and I think that "Secret Smile" is a beautiful and all-too-often-overlooked ballad that catches Phish in their most vulnerable sound to date. And ironically enough, the single from the record, "The Connection," finally saw a live debut on the back half of this summer tour after being shelved for almost 5 years.

Obviously with the heavy circulation of their new material, and the outright neglect of their previous 2 records, it's clear that Phish is back in the zone. Maybe Roundroom and Undermind aren't their two favorite releases to date, but the mark an important point in phishtory: a time when the band reevaluated what made them work to begin with. And now, much like a phoenix rising from the ashes, they are stronger than they've ever been.

Plus Trey seems sober! Awesome!

*finally, for any of you heading to Festival 8, give us a holler. We always love to connect with our readers in person!*

Track list:

01 Undermind
02 The Connection
03 A Song I Heard the Ocean Sing
04 Two Versions of Me
05 Crowd Control
06 Secret Smile
07 Army of One
08 Access Me
09 Nothing
10 Tomorrow's Song
11 Scents 1
12 Scents 2
13 Birdwatcher


No comments: